Simba take league lead

Holders Simba bounced back at the summit of the Mainland premier soccer league after clawing hosts Kagera Sugar by 2-0 goals in a poorly officiated match played at the Kaitaba Stadium in Bukoba, yesterday.

Rashid Gumbo was the toast of the winners as he scored both goals in either half to take the holders at the top of the standings table after ten rounds.

The holders are returning to the helm of the table after ten rounds following the topple by rivals Yanga when they suffered their first premiership defeat to Police Dodoma at the CCM Kirumba Stadium in Mwanza on September 19.

Gumbo put Simba ahead after converting a penalty in the 24th minute when Kagera Sugar defender Godfrey Taita handed the ball in frantic efforts to clear Gumbo’s earlier corner kick.

Simba enjoyed the lone goal lead up to half time mark as the host side weighed the possibilities of drawing level.
While Kagera were looking forward to pull the equaliser,  Gumbo was again on target after being set up by Simba’s Ugandan striker Emmanuel Okwi, twenty minutes into the second half.

Kagera tried in vain to find an equaliser but Simba defenders remained strong enough to thwart all the attacks.
Both teams were not satisfied by the referee’s decisions as Kagera Sugar coach Mrage Kabange deplored the poor officiating.

This is the second win for Simba against Kagera Sugar at their home ground since the season before the last.
Kagera is one of the two teams that halted Simba’s rollercoaster display when they held them to a 1-1 draw during the last season’s return leg tie at the same venue.

The holders have bounced back into the driving seat with 24 points to open a two-point gap over rivals Yanga who were held to a dramatic 1-1 draw with African Lyon in Morogoro yesterday.

In Mwanza, Toto Africa and Majimaji battled to a barren draw as Azam FC beat Police Dodoma by a lone goal through Peter Senyonjo at the Jamhuri Stadium in Dodoma. Azam’s John Boko missed a penalty.

In Morogoro Mtibwa Sugar thrashed relegation-haunted AFC by three goals through one Saidi, Ali and  Juma Jaffer after 23,  26 and 45th minutes, respectively.

Kagera Sugar:
Amani Simba, Said Mourad, Kenny Felix, Paul Joseph, Sunday Frank, Ali Lundenga, Godfrey Taita, Benjamin Asukile, Gaudence Mwaikimba, Jumanne Nade, George Kavila and George Mketo.
Juma Kaseja,  Haruna Shamte, Amir Maftah, Juma Nyosso, Joseph Owino,  Jerry Santo/ Mohamed Banka, Rashid Gumbo, Hillary Echessa, Emmanuel Okwi/Patrick Ochan, Mussa Mgosi and Amri Kiemba.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Posted under:  All Articles