Kagame Cup final underway in Kigali

Hosts APR FC meet Ethiopia’s St. George’s in the final match of the Kagame Cup championship at the Amahoro Stadium this afternoon.

Visiting St.George’s will be looking to their maiden Kagame Cup victory to scoop the hefty prize package of $30,000 earmarked for the tournament winners.

Losing finalists have $20,000 while third placed team takes home $10,000.

However, they have an uphill task to subdue the hosts APR who have previously won the title twice, their first being in 2004 and the last one three years later.

In terms of achievement for the Kagame Cup championship, APR takes the lead for Rwanda teams as holders Atraco and Rayon Sports also had touched the silverware.

Atraco’s title retention bid came to a shuddering halt on Thursday when St. Georges sent them packing with 3-1 goals demolition before their home supporters.

APR kicks off the final without losing a match after excelling right from the group stages.

However, they had to win on default to secure the quarter-final berth following a washout of their match against invitees TP Mazembe who were expelled as a result of assaulting referee.

It will be a thrilling final as St. Georges, who are trained by former Young Africans Serbian coach Sredojevic Millutin, or Micho, would like to have a hand on the silverware as well as the prize package.

APR coach Eric Te Paske said his players are upbeat to win the title no matter how good are their opponents in the match that kicks off at 17.00 hours.

Twice winners ARP, who are heavily supported by the Government through the ministry of defence, look forward to their third title in six years.

APR knocked out Kenya champions Sofapaka by a lone goal to cruise into the final.

Sofapaka and Atraco are vying for the third place match, ahead of the final.

Their win over Sofapaka was preceded by quarter-final elimination of Mainland champions Simba on Monday.

Six times record title holders Simba had a lackluster performance during the championship despite winning applause by Kigali fans during their quarter-final clash against APR.

Should APR win it will be Rwanda’s fifth time victory of the title to tally with what Uganda has achieved since the championship was inaugurated in 1974.

Kenya’s AFC Leopards remain as the only club that managed to win title hat-trick between 1982 and 1985.

Kenya Breweries (Tusker FC), Simba and Gor Mahia have also won the title in back-to-back pattern as well.

Kenya is leading in terms of title haul with 15 times wins as Mainland Tanzania trails with nine wins, six for Simba and the rest for Yanga.

Ugandan Dennis Batte will be the central referee while Zanzibar’s Ali Kombe and Kenyan Aden Marwa are linesmen for the match.


Posted under:  All Articles