Simba eliminate defending champions Mtibwa Sugar

Simba Team

Simba SC came from behind to defeat Mtibwa Sugar 2-1 in a Group `A’ Tusker Challenge Cup match played at the Uhuru Stadium in Dar es Salaam yesterday.

Mtibwa Sugar who were defending their title, scored first in the 43rd minute when Saidi Mkopi beat goalie Juma Kaseja after connecting home a Chacha Marwa cross.

Before the goal in the 31st minute, Simba missed a penalty when Hilary Echesa shot went wide. Referee had awarded the penalty when Obadia Mungusa handed the ball as he was in a move to clear the danger.

Mike Barasa who substituted Nico Nyagawa in the second half equalised for the Msimbazi Stree side in the 62nd minute before Haruna Moshi added the second in the 79th.

The sugar men are out of the race after losing 1-3 at the hands of Sofapaka of Kenya in the opening game. Sofapaka and Simba tie on three points, but the Kenyan side beat Patrick Phiri’s boys with goal difference.

Mainland archrivals Simba and Yanga will meet in the semi final if Yanga win or draw in their last Group `B’ match today, with Tusker of Kenya. The Vodacom Premier League defending champions will only escape playing Simba in the semi if they are beaten by the brewers..


Simba: Juma Kaseja, Salum Kanoni, Juma Jabu, Juama Nyoso, Joseph Owino, Mohamed Banka, Nico Nyagawa/Mike Barasa, Hilary Echesa, Mussa Hassan Mgosi, Emmanuel Okwi, Haruna Moshi.

Mtibwa Sugar: Omary Ali, Obadia Mungusa, Idrisa Rajabu, Chacha Marwa, Shabani Aboma, Shaban Nditi, Abdulhalim Hamoud, Masoud Ali, Said Mkoki, Pius Kisambale, Lameck Dayton


Posted under:  All Articles