Man Utd start against Birmingham

Anderson, Ryan Giggs and Wayne Rooney celebrate winning the title
Manchester United’s Anderson, Ryan Giggs and Wayne Rooney celebrate winning the Premier League title

Manchester United will begin the defence of their Premier League title at home to newly promoted Birmingham.

Carlo Ancelotti’s first game in charge at Chelsea will be against Hull at Stamford Bridge as the campaign gets under way on the weekend of August 15.

Liverpool open at Tottenham while Arsenal face Everton at Goodison Park.

Wolves play West Ham at Molineux and Burnley visit Stoke on their return to the top flight before facing Manchester United at Turf Moor 18 August.

Big-spending Manchester City make the journey to Blackburn on the opening day before hosting Everton at Eastlands on 19 August.

New Wigan boss Roberto Martinez starts his reign at Aston Villa, while Bolton are at home to Steve Bruce’s Sunderland and Portsmouth meet Fulham at Fratton Park.

Paul Fletcher’s blog
Paul Fletcher

Manchester United have to wait until the end of the month before they play one of the top four clubs as they take on Arsenal at Old Trafford on 29 August, with the return fixture at the Emirates on 30 January.

Sir Alex Ferguson’s side visit Anfield to play Liverpool on 24 October and last season’s runners-up are at Old Trafford on 20 March. Chelsea are the last of the other top four sides to face United when they play the champions at Stamford Bridge on 7 November, with the return fixture on 3 April.

Last season’s losing Champions League finalists close the season at home to Stoke on 9 May, while Liverpool finish their season at Hull on 9 May.

Liverpool visit Stamford Bridge on October 3, while Chelsea travel to Anfield on 1 May.

Wolves fans will be looking forward to a December 15 trip to Old Trafford to play Manchester United and a home fixture against the champions on March 6, while fellow top-flight newcomers Birmingham play the champions at St Andrews on 9 January.

• Video highlights of every game in the Football League and SPL next season will be available on the BBC Sport website, for UK users.