Kenyans excel in Marathon

Kenyan athletes dominated the seventh edition of Kilimanjaro Marathon after a superb clean sweep of the event’s prizes that ended in Moshi yesterday.

The full marathon event (42 kilometres) saw Kenyan Johnstone Kibet huffing to the finishing line first with a timing of 2:15:24 to beat Tanzanian Patrick Nyangero by ten seconds.

Nyangero, who dominated the race for long spells, had his dream shattered with two kilometres to the finishing line as the Kenyan steeped up his speed.

The Tanzanian should also thank God after he managed to shrug off imminent pressure from another highly charging Kenyan Julius Kilimo.

Kilimo outpaced fourth placed compatriot, Kiplagat Kiplomo.

In ladies category, Kenyan Jane Nyambura clocked 2:41:30 hours to stay ahead of compatriots Sally Lagat and Leah Kusar who spent 2:49:59 and 2:54:16 hours respectively.

Ugandan Irene Chemusto was fourth placed for her 2:56:42 timing to beat Kenyan Emily Cheptwing to fifth place overall.

In half marathon event, Tanzanian Samwel Kwaang` beat compatriot Gitime Shamba by a whisker after clocking 1:03:46 in contrast to Shamba`s 1:04:16 hours.

However, Kenyan Peter Matelong was just two seconds short of the runners up and one second better than compatriot Amos Kaptich.

The Kenyans were superb in ladies half marathon when Hellen Mugo outpaced Tanzanian Mary Naali. The Kenyan lady clocked 1:17:14.

From third to fourth place it was also a Kenyan affair when Kellen Waithira and Fridah Too triumphed while Tanzanian Jackline Sakulu was fifth placed in the final standings.

The winners and runners up of both full and half marathon for men and ladies scooped 3m/= and 1.5m/= respectively.

Other cash prizes were awarded to the rest of the top ten finishers.

In the wheelchair disabled half marathon race Maulid Juma clocked 1:40:44 to beat Abisai Lema (1:41:11) as Yussuf Idiomo (1:43:32) was third placed. Linda Marwa was the only lady competitor.

Other wheelchair runners who managed to finish the race were Elisante Elikunda (1:46:39), Elirehema Sure (1:50:29), Robert Msele (1:50:56), Abdisaid Dodan (1:58:37), Eliring Ngowi (2:00:28), Ernest Nyabalale (2:02:02) and Pascal John (2:03:24).

Another version of disabled race for non-wheelchair runners saw Julius Mutie beating Steven Mangete as Wilbrart Constantine finished third.

The five kilometre fun run had Fred Laizer as men`s winner while Janeth Silaki made it for ladies.

Foreign Minister Bernard Membe presided over the colorful prize presentation ceremony.

  • SOURCE: Guardian

Posted under:  All Articles